John Johnson, the son of
John & Mary Smith Johnson,
was born about 1710. What we know about him is primarily from his
probated on April 23, 1767. He
married a woman named Eleanor in about 1740.
Cryer has John leaving the land known as "St. Peters Wells" to his wife Eleanor in
his will probated on April 23, 1767.
Apparently then it passed into the hands of Mile Johnson. He then deeded
it to his brother Thomas as recorded in the St. Mary's Chronicles, Transfers and
was usual in that time apparently his wife was only given a life estate, meaning
that she could only own the land during her lifetime and could not will the land
to someone else or sell it.
Their children are listed as follows: