Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 

WILLIAM EDWARD & MARY ELIZA (RALEY) JOHNSON

LINK TO:

 

William E. Johnson & Mary E. Raley

 

William Edward Johnson was born April 1836 and died March 2, 1907.  He was the son of John & Sarah (Drury) Johnson.  He is buried in St. Joseph RCC Cemetery.  He married Mary Eliza "Liza" Raley (b. August 1842, d. 1927) on December 1, 1864. She is also buried at St. Joseph RCC Cemetery.

Ms. Cryer has quite a bit of information on William.  In 1870 he owned property valued at $800.00 located four farms from his brother Hillery at Oakville. By 1910 William rented Gilbert Hill, a farm in Compton.  Ms. Cryer's husband, Ted Cryer, spent time at the farm.  Ms. Johnson was known to the grandchildren as "Mere."  She kept the pantry key on a chain around her waist to keep the children out of the supplies.

The children of this marriage were as follows:

Elinor "Nora" b. 1865
Mary Victoria "Tora" b. Mar. 1867
Martha Lucinda "Lula" b. Mar. 1870
William Albert "Alfred" b. Nov. 1871
George "Parren" b. Jul. 1874
Alice b. 1876
Thomas Rudolphus "Rhodie" b. Oct. 1878
Clara Evely "Eva" b. Jun., 1881