Episcopal Church Parish
of Chaptico in Chaptico, Maryland. This was the church attended by Uriah
Johnson and his wife Clarissa. The first church was built in 1642
by Thomas Gerrard. The second church was built in 1736. In
the quiet village of Chaptico stands this small church of red brick with
Flemish bond & glazed headers. The first church was built in 1642;
King & Queen Parish was established in 1692. The present church was
built in 1736, with the addition of the tower in 1913.
Church, Chaptico, Maryland
& limits of St. Maries County Parishes laid out the 5th day of
September Anno Dom 1692 by virtue of a late act of Assembly thereunto
directing as follows: the lower being called William & Mary Parish
and the upper by King & Queen Parish.